Three Counties To Fall Back To Phase 2, Yakima Stays In Phase 3


Three counties – Pierce, Cowlitz and Whitman – will regress back to Phase 2 on Friday, April 16, after they failed metrics for remaining in Phase 3 with the rest of the state, according to the governor’s office. Yakima County remains in phase 3 due to lower hospitalization numbers. In general, no more than 25% occupancy is allowed for indoor or outdoor activities under Phase 2, compared with 50% in Phase 3. Exceptions are allowed for school graduation ceremonies under certain conditions. The next evaluation of counties will be in three weeks on May 3. On Thursday, April 15, all Washingtonians age 16 or over will be eligible to receive the COVID-19 vaccines.